Robert E. Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award

The Robert E. Mitchell Award was initiated in 1996 in honor of Captain Robert E. Mitchell, MC, USN for his 43 years of exemplary naval service and numerous contributions to naval aerospace medicine. Captain Mitchell is best known for his contributions to two long-term aeromedical research projects: the "Thousand Aviators" study and the "Repatriated Prisoner of Wars" study. This award is designated to recognize an emeritus Naval Flight Surgeon for their career contributions to promoting and advancing the knowledge and science of aerospace and operational medicine.


2015  CAPT Richard A. Beane, MC, USN

2006  CAPT E. J. Sacks, MC, USN (Ret.)                               

2005  CDR Jay Phelan, MC, USN

2004  CAPT Terrence Riley, MC, USN (Ret.)                     

2003  CAPT E. J. Sacks, MC, USN (Ret.)              

2002  CAPT Conrad I. Dalton, MC, USN (Ret)   

2001  No nominations               

2000  CAPT Charles H. Bercier, Jr., MC, USN (Ret)

1999  RADM Daniel B. Lestage, MC, USN (Ret)

1998  CAPT Frank E. Dully, MC, USN (Ret)

1997  CAPT Frank H. Austin, Jr., MC, USN (Ret)

1996  CAPT Robert E. Mitchell, MC, USN (Ret)

Richard E. Luehrs Award for the Operational Flight Surgeon of the Year Award

The Luehrs Award is the longest running award sponsored by the Society. It was initiated in 1975 in honor of Captain Richard E. Luehrs, MC, USN. Dr. Luehrs is somewhat of a legend in the naval aeromedical community. His career spanned 32 years of exemplary service ending in his untimely death in 1974. The Luehrs Award is given annually to recognize outstanding performance in operational aviation medicine practice by a first or second tour Naval Flight Surgeon of the rank of Lieutenant or Lieutenant Commander. Selection is based on leadership qualities, dedication, initiative, resourcefulness and industry in carrying out their duties with the operational forces.


2015  LCDR Mark Debuse 

2006  LT Alexander B. Galifianankis

2005  LCDR Sarah Arnold

2004  LT Michael W. Nielsen

2003  LT Christopher H. Way

2002  LT Christopher B. Chisholm

2001  LT Sean Barbabella

2000  LT Alfred Shwayhat

1999  LT Sean Murphy

1998  LT Troy Anderson

1997  LT William Todd III

1996  LT William Baugh

1995  LT Barth Merrill

1994  LT Joseph Shaughnessy

1993  LT Kris Belland

1992  LT Gregory Polston

1991  LCDR Glenn Merchant

1990  CDR Joel Lees

1989  LCDR Daniel Carucci

1988  LCDR Charles Brady, Jr.

1987  LCDR David Brown

1986  LCDR Ivan Peacock

1985  CDR Harold Howell

1984  LT Arthur Kelleher

1983  LCDR Steven Hart

1982  LT James Terbush

1981  LT Jerry Rose

1980  LT Thomas Daniel

1979  LCDR Ed Ellenbeck

1978  LCDR Bruce Johnson

1977  LT Willis Martin

1976  LT Wayne Judson

1975  LCDR John Randolph

Captain Bruce W. Jackson Award for the Outstanding Reserve Flight Surgeon of the Year Award

The Bruce W. Jackson Award, begun in 1999, is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the practice of aerospace medicine as a Reservist and service to those Sailors and Marines that depend on their Flight Surgeon for their health and safety in peacetime and in war.


2015  CAPT Homas R. Flipse, MC, USNR

2007  CAPT Joseph P. Dervay, USNR      

2006  CDR Mark G. Hoffman                  

2005  No nominations

2004  No nominations              

2003  CAPT John A. McGurty, MC, USNR

2002  CDR Daniel H. Serrato, MC, USN

2001  No nominations

2000  CAPT Guillermo Salazar, MC, USNR

1999  RADM James R. Fowler, MC, USNR (Ret)

Sonny Carter Memorial Award

The Sonny Carter Memorial Award was instituted in 1993 in memory of Captain Manley Lanier "Sonny" Carter, Jr., MC, USN. The award recognizes the Medical Corps or Medical Service Corps Officer who has made the most significant contribution towards improving the health, safety, and welfare of operational forces by promoting communication and teamwork among the aeromedical communities. Before his death in 1992, Sonny Carter was somewhat of a legend in Aerospace Medicine. As a Naval Officer, Naval Aviator, Flight Surgeon, and member of the Astronaut Corps, he was respected for his technical abilities, energy, and dedication to his profession, and probably most of all, for his ability to inspire others. The Sonny Carter Award recipient is judged not only on accomplishments in the last year but also on a career history of aeromedical community involvement. Criteria for selection include: resourcefulness and dedication in promoting and accomplishing operational medical support; demonstrated leadership in forming and promoting teamwork among the various aeromedical specialties; demonstrated professionalism, integrity, unselfishness and respect for all aeromedical communities; demonstrated communication skills, and embodiment of the spirit of cooperation.


2015:  LT Todd A. Anderson, MC, USN

2006  CDR William D. Agerton

2005  LT Matthew Lawrence

2004  LT Kenneth J. Moses, MC, USN

2003  CDR Gale G. Goyins, MC, USNR

2002  CDR John J. Lee, MC, USNR

2001  LT Alexander S. Brough, MC, USN

2000  CDR Kris M. Belland, MC, USN

1999  CDR P. Glenn Merchant, MC, USN

1998  CAPT Donald C. Arthur, MC, USN

1997  LT Jeffrey M. Andrews, MSC, USNR

1996  No nominations

1995  LT Marva L. Wheeler, MSC, USN

Ashton Graybiel Award

The Ashton Graybiel Award was initiated in 1991 in honor of Captain Ashton Graybiel, MC, USN, who pioneered aviation medicine research. Dr. Graybiel served as Director of Naval Research for the Naval School of Aviation Medicine and Research. He provided consultation for many experiments undertaken by the school and was an acknowledged expert in the field of cardiovascular medicine. His work included the development of electrocardiographic techniques, experimentation with flight disorientation, studies on the physiological effects of altitude on humans, and work with the "Thousand Aviators Study." He is affectionately referred to as the "Father of Naval Aerospace Medical Research." This award is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions to the medical literature by members of the Society of U.S. Naval Flight Surgeons in support of some operational issue in Aerospace Medicine that has made a significant contribution with promise of long-term impact on the health and safety of aviation. Eligible recipients of this award have conducted or have been involved in an original research project and their papers published within the past year. By convention, only those papers published in Aviation, Space and Environmental Medicine are considered, unless the awards committee is made award of papers published elsewhere.


2015  LCDR Sarah Blythe-Ballard

2006  LCDR Merrill G. Rice, MC, USNR

2005  LCDR David M. DeLonga, MC, USNR

2004  No nominations

2003  LCDR Merrill G. Rice, MC, USNR

2002  LCDR Eric Bower, MC, USN

2001  CDR David G. McGowan, MC, USN

2000  CDR Jennifer Berg, MC, USN

          CDR Jeffrey L. Moore, MC, USN

1999  MAJ Carl M. Walker, MC, CAF

1998  CDR Victoria M. Voge, MC, USN (Ret)

1997  CDR Elwood W. Hopkins III, MC, USNR

1996  No nominations

1995  CAPT Nader K. Takla, MC, USN

1994  CDR Michael H. Mittleman, MSC, USNF

1993  No nominations

1992  Jonathan Bailey Clark

Cornelius N. "Fritz" Koppy-John R. "Rick" Garmeson Aerospace Medicine Technician (AVT) of the Year Award

The Cornelius N. "Fritz" Koppy-John R. "Rick" Garmeson Aerospace Medicine Technician (AVT) of the Year Award will be presented to the outstanding AVT of the Year.


2015  HM1 Merly Maltezo

2005  Lawrence Comdeco, AVT

2004  HM1 Webster F. Nicholson, AVT

2003  HM1 Judy K. Tarpley

2002  HM3 Jason J. Legare

2001  HM1 Michael G. Stahl

Please reload